count2three


Culture is in the details.


interviews




count2three | Teaser



S.V. Raman

Not only in Kolkata S.V. Raman has been a true interface of Indo-German culture. In a roundabout way he once started working in the Goethe-Institute where most recently he was Film Commissioner for South Asia. I can not think of any other Indian who speaks German as impressively (without having lived there) neither can I think of anyone who can describe the Indian and German culture as precise and well reflected. He describes himself as an inveterate Kalkuttan with South Indian roots, who no longer wanted to be a civil engineer and suddenly found himself working with Günter Grass and Pina Bausch… The conversation with him was an enriching experience.


Dr. Ranjan Sen

Dr. Ranjan Sen is chief scientist at the Central Glass and Ceramic Research Institute in Jadavpur, Kolkata. He has been to Germany as a visiting scientist several times. Therefore he not only became a witness of the fall of the Berlin Wall, but also a keen observer and lover of German (academic) culture. No wonder that some important German words like "going for a walk, weekend, impatient, sausage and french fries" still stick to him after so many years! Dr. Sen demonstrates how cultures can learn from each other and he knows exactly why discussions and exchanges are so important in an intercultural environment.


Eric Laufer

Eric Laufer is a senior IT consultant who repeatedly works in international projects. In the year 2011/12 he has worked in a Indo-German team in Berlin for the first time and lets us participate in his work life. In doing so he is occupied with very basic questions: What exactly does the Indian colleague want from me, why is he not responding to my question, why is he not admitting mistakes and what is he thinking anyway? The interview provides an insight into realities of an industry where intercultural competence has become a key qualification.


B.G. Roy

Until december 2011 Mr. B.G. Roy was the head of the Foreign Chamber of Commerce in Kolkata. Drawing from decades of experience working with Germans he does not only describe precisely what he expects from German companies in India, but also why lots of business cooperations fail. Mr. Roy also shares situations from his working life that finally made ​​him an expert of Indo-German cooperation. If it were up to me we could go on talking for hours!


Sunanda Basu

40 years ago, a simple German word changed everything: „Gegenstand“. Sunanda Basu once moved on from her studies on philosophy and dedicated herself to the German language and culture. Today, she looks back on 38 years of active life as a teacher at the Goethe-Institute and is still teaching Bengali at home. She tells of anecdotes and incredible coincidences that happened to her when she was a poor student from Bengal living in Munich back in the 70s.


Shashank Sinha

Imagine you are sitting in a hotel room 8000 kilometers away from the place you once called your home. Shashank Sinha is a SAP Consultant from Bihar in India, he is living in England and works in projects worldwide. After a hard day at work we are having a relaxed conversation in Berlin. We are not talking about culture though, we are talking about humans. But yet, if you listen carefully, you will get important impulses which you might find useful for the reflection of intercultural encounters.


Prof. Raps, Prof. Chakravorti &
Prof. Finkel


Prof. Raps and Prof. Finkel from the Institute of Electrical Engineering (University of Augsburg) and Prof. Chakravorti (Jadavpur University) show how fruitful Indo-German exchange can be in the academic field. The German professors are visiting India for the first time and describe what they have experienced in the short period of one week. Prof. Chakravorti has been to research trips in Germany several times before. An interview with a lot of added value for students, teachers and those who want to break with the image of a "country of snake charmers".


Avadhesh Bagla

Like no other interviewee, Avadhesh Bagla embodies a new Indian self-confidence. In 2001 he spent one year in Germany to work with handicapped people. Since then, he returned to Germany several times and traveled Europe. In this interview he describes current developments in India, lets us see into his life in Alipore and describes his impressions of the Germans. Especially for the German viewer Avadhesh opens new perspectives to India.


Dr. Debabrata Chakrabarti

Dr. Debabrata Chakrabarti is a writer, poet and a German language teacher. Furthermore, he translates German literature into Bengali and forges links between the cultures. After years of interest, he was 48 years old when he finally traveled to Germany for the first time. We talk about general observations on intercultural encounters, the importance of language and preconceived ways of thinking. From a Bengali poem to German children's songs — a sympathetic snapshot of a committed „cultural ambassedor“.


Touseef Liaqat

Touseef Liaqat comes from Lahore, Pakistan. He worked for some time in the office next to mine and when we got to know each other, we had long talks about him living in Germany. In this interview he talks about the working mentality, his family in Pakistan, German customs, the image of the west shown in Hollywood movies as well as his anxiety as a Muslim in everyday’s life in Germany. His wife and daughter never got a German visa — today the three live in the U.S.


Verena Ott

Two years ago, Verena Ott started a daring enterprise: She quit her job in Munich and accepted an offer from Kolkata. Now she is giving lessons in fashion design at an International College there. Verena describes impressively how she lived through the initial culture shock and how everyday’s normality gradually found its way into her life. She shows us a side of India, which might be quite different than we think. An impressive portrait.


Dr. Martin Wälde

Dr. Martin Wälde is, for the second time, director of the Goethe-Institute in Kolkata. We head back to Mr. Wälde’s early days when he was a young student thoroughly overwhelmed by the impressions in India until we discuss present observations after years of intensive culture work abroad (including Poland, Pakistan and India). A successful cultural exchange for both sides enters in the limelight; therefore he gives valuable insight into the Institute's projects and describes its important role for German — and Indian — culture.


Plotpourrie Theatre Group

Marilena Savvides, Julia Holzbach and
Supriyo Bandyopadhyay are members of the Plotpourrie Theatre Group, an international theater group from Bonn. The ensemble includes, besides Europeans, also Pakistanis and Indians. The three of them talk about their personal working experiences and observations in their private lives, about prejudices that are none, about integration and tell us how cultural events — in Germany and India — can be turned into fruitful encounters.


Rüdiger Abshalom Dalit Westphal

Rüdiger Abshalom Dalit Westphal is an art teacher, artist and world traveler. After he had tracked through Africa, he travelled India in 1974 and gives many insights into an India from years back — knowing that the India he has seen has changed drastically. With a wink, he also shares bizarre events and meetings on his journey that make us not only smile but also reflect our own lessons learned. Enriching and refreshingly different!


Barbara Scharrer

Barbara Scharrer is a German lawyer specialized in the Asian market. For an international law firm, she brought hundreds of German companies to Asia and even managed several offices herself. Due to her work, she has lived in many Asian countries, including India; three years ago she started her own business. In addition, she has held teaching positions and passes her valuable knowledge to students. In this interview, she shares her diverse work experience with us. Well, I don’t want to reveal too much, but even experienced CEOs will definitely learn something…


Prof. H.S. Shivaprakash

Lunch at the Embassy: Prof. H.S. Shivaprakash is the councillor for education and culture of the Indian Embassy and the director of the Tagore Centre Berlin. Furthermore he is a well-known Kannada writer and poet. His interface with Germany is, of course, obvious and he gives a lot of impulse and personal insight concerning a lasting Indo-German approach. His thinking is surprisingly unconventional and his answers very honest. Ready for a philosophical journey? Strain your ears!


Christin Niedballa

The first time Christin Niedballa went to India was with the volunteer program "weltwärts" — a program initiated by the German government. She worked in a project with former street children, worked as a teacher and helped improving health consciousness. In this interview she reports about her experiences and challenges during that time — not only in India but also while returning to her own country after almost a year. Memorable!


Dipak Doshi

Kaufhof, Wirtshaus Lebkuchen: Dipak Doshi has been working with German clients in the leather goods business for more than two decades. He particularizes his expert knowledge in this interview, talks about Klaus Jung, his German partner of the first hour and tells us about what he thinks is a perfect German. Highly recommended for those who are into Indo-German business: Watch it and you’ll be well prepared!


Manuela Funck

Manuela Funck worked as a German language teacher at the Goethe-Centre in Trivandrum. We met in Cologne and had an intense talk under a clear blue sky. Manuela proves that she has developed an impressive cultural sensitivity during her stay, which she acquired through insightful observations and an intense reflection of what happened. A very enriching interview.


Christian Noçon

I met Christian Noçon at Rainer Thielmann’s reading where he was playing the sitar. We met again months later in Kolkata, where Christian lives and studies the sitar on a wonderful campus. An oasis of calm – only suffused with his music. The interview is a very different and personal view of a German living in India. Take a look.


Ritesh Mandavia

While looking for a Hindi language teacher I met Ritesh Mandavia — Senior Consultant for an international bank. Not only did he become a good friend but also a great person to talk to concerning Indo-German cultural approach. Ritesh has been living in Germany for nine years and shares his observations in this interview.


Tobias Hardardt

On a beautiful sunny day in late summer, I sat in a cafe with one of my fellow students and talked enthusiastically about my documentary project. Right in the middle someone tapped me on the shoulder, apologized politely that he had overheard and immediately told me about his experiences as a flight attendant on long-distance flights to India. The result was a fun and informative meeting and a taking interview. Enjoy.


Michael Kern

Michael is also a Master's student at Humboldt-University in Berlin and right before our interview he had returned from a 6-month internship at a German company in Pune. His impressions and experiences lead to an interesting conversation giving fascinating insights from the realm of expats.


Conny Rave &
Debasish Bhattacharjee


Due to the Indo-German Society in Cologne I met with Anubhab – an Indian school of music and an Indo-German living community at the same time. Not only was I able to spend valuable time in the Anubhab residence which was a true enrichment; the descriptions of Conny and Debashish about the squabbles of everyday life and the passion for music are inspiring and provide many new perspectives.


Rainer Thielmann

Rainer is a multitool himself — writer, musician, poet, hedonist, Indian lover and a unique personality. When dealing with India in various ways one can hardly get around him and after all that’s a good thing. He performs readings and multimedia presentations in which he approaches the country and it’s people in his very own way while processing his complex impressions. In this interview he also describes in what unusual way his love for India arose.

count2three


Culture is in the details.


interviews




count2three | Teaser

Dokumentarfilme, die Themen wie Wirtschaftsboom, Armut oder Einzelschicksale porträtieren, helfen uns auf zwischenmenschlicher Ebene kaum. Neben Informationen brauchen wir viel mehr, damit interkulturelle Begegnungen gelingen können. Wir müssen versuchen eine Kultursensibilität zu entwickeln – für die fremde Kultur und auch für die eigene. Was „auf drei zählen“ damit zu tun hat? Wie dieser Teaser zeigt: Ziemlich viel. Denn der Weg aufeinander zu gelingt mit Empathie, Sympathie, Interesse und Humor viel leichter.



S.V. Raman

Nicht nur in Kolkata verkörpert S.V. Raman seit Jahrzehnten eine wahre Schnittstelle deutsch-indischer Kultur. Über Umwege kam er einst zum Goethe-Institut und war dort zuletzt Filmbeauftragter für Südasien. Ich kenne keinen Inder der so beeindruckend deutsch spricht und auch keinen, der die indische und deutsche Kultur so präzise beschreiben und so gut reflektieren kann. Sich selbst beschreibt er als unverbesserlichen Kalkuttaner mit südindischen Wurzeln, der kein Bauingenieur mehr sein wollte und sich plötzlich in einer Arbeitsumgebung mit Günter Grass und Pina Bausch wiederfand... Das Gespräch mit ihm war eine Bereicherung.


Dr. Ranjan Sen

Dr. Ranjan Sen ist Chief Scientist am Central Glass and Ceramic Research Institute in Jadavpur, Kolkata. Er war bereits mehrmals als Gastwissenschaftler in Deutschland und ist nicht nur Zeitzeuge des Mauerfalls, sondern auch ein genauer Beobachter und Liebhaber der deutschen (akademischen) Kultur. Kein Wunder, dass ihm über die Jahre wichtige deutsche Wörter wie „spazieren gehen, Wochenende, ungeduldig, Wurst und Pommes“ in guter Erinnerung geblieben sind! Dr. Sen zeigt eindrücklich wie Kulturen voneinander lernen können und weiß genau, warum Gespräche und Austausch in einem interkulturellen Umfeld so wichtig sind.


Eric Laufer

Eric Laufer ist Senior IT Consultant und arbeitet immer wieder in internationalen Projekten. 2011/12 arbeitete er zum ersten Mal in einem deutsch-indischen Team in Berlin und lässt uns an seinem Arbeitsleben teilhaben. Dabei beschäftigten ihn ganz elementare Fragen: Was will der Inder genau, warum antwortet er nicht auf meine Frage, warum gibt er nicht zu wenn er etwas nicht kann und überhaupt — was denkt er eigentlich? Das Interview gibt Einblicke in die Alltagsrealitäten einer Branche, in der interkulturelle Kompetenz zur Schlüsselqualifikation geworden ist.


B.G. Roy

B.G. Roy war bis Dezember 2011 Leiter der Auslandshandelskammer AHK Kolkata. Er schöpft aus einer jahrzehntelangen Arbeitserfahrung mit Deutschen und schildert nicht nur präzise was er sich von deutschen Unternehmen in Indien wünscht, sondern auch warum viele wirtschaftliche Kooperationen nicht funktionieren. Darüber hinaus teilt Herr Roy Situationen aus seinem Arbeitsleben, die ihn schließlich zu einem Experten deutsch-indischer Kooperation gemacht haben. Wenn es nach mir ginge: Wir hätten noch stundenlang weitersprechen können…


Sunanda Basu

Vor über 40 Jahren begann alles mit einem deutschen Wort, das alles veränderte: „Gegenstand“. Sunanda Basu ließ einst ihr Philosophiestudium hinter sich und widmete sich fortan der deutschen Sprache und Kultur. Heute blickt sie auf 38 Jahre Lehrtätigkeit beim Goethe-Institut zurück und bringt zu Hause noch immer deutschen Studenten Bengali bei. Sie erzählt Anekdoten aus einem erfahrungsreichen Leben und schildert unfassbare Zufälle, die ihr als bengalische Studentin im München der 70er Jahre wiederfahren sind.


Shashank Sinha

Stellen Sie sich vor, Sie sitzen in einem Hotelzimmer 8000 Kilometer entfernt von dem Ort, den Sie Ihre Heimat nennen. Shashank Sinha ist SAP Consultant, er kommt aus Bihar in Indien, lebt in England und arbeitet in Projekten weltweit. Nach einem anstrengenden Arbeitstag führen wir ein entspanntes Gespräch in Berlin. Dabei reden wir nicht über Kultur, wir sprechen über Menschen. Wer genau hinhört, erhält dennoch wichtige Impulse für die Reflexion interkultureller Begegnungen.


Prof. Raps, Prof. Chakravorti &
Prof. Finkel


Wie lohnend deutsch-indischer Austausch im akademischen Bereich sein kann, zeigen Prof. Raps und Prof. Finkel vom Institut für Elektrotechnik der Hochschule Augsburg sowie Prof. Chakravorti der Jadavpur University in Kolkata. Die deutschen Professoren sind das erste Mal für eine Woche in Indien und schildern was sie in der kurzen Zeit erlebt haben. Prof. Chakravorti war daneben bereits mehrmals zu Forschungsaufenthalten in Deutschland. Ein Interview mit viel Mehrwert — für Studierende, Lehrende und alle die sich vom Bild eines „Landes der Schlangenbeschwörer“ lösen wollen.


Avadhesh Bagla

Avadhesh Bagla verkörpert wie kein anderer ein neues indisches Selbstbewusstsein. 2001 verbrachte er ein Jahr mit einer internationalen Organisation in Deutschland und arbeitete mit Behinderten. Seitdem war er mehrfach in Deutschland und bereiste Europa. Er schildert gegenwärtige Entwicklungen in Indien, gibt Einblicke in sein Leben in Alipore und beschreibt seine Eindrücke von den Deutschen. Avadhesh eröffnet in diesem Interview neue Perspektiven auf Indien — insbesondere für den deutschen Zuschauer.


Dr. Debabrata Chakrabarti

Vom Bengalischen Gedicht über deutsche Kinderlieder: Dr. Debabrata Chakrabarti ist Autor, Poet und Deutschlehrer. Daneben übersetzt er vor allem deutsche Literatur ins Bengalische und schlägt damit Brücken zwischen den Kulturen. Nach jahrelanger Beschäftigung reiste er mit 48 Jahren das erste Mal nach Deutschland. Wir unterhalten uns über allgemeine Beobachtungen im interkulturellen Umgang, die Bedeutung der Sprache sowie vorgeprägte Denkweisen — die sympathische Momentaufnahme eines „Kulturbotschafters“.


Touseef Liaqat

Touseef Liaqat kommt aus Lahore, Pakistan. Er arbeitete einige Zeit lang im Büro mir gegenüber und fortan führten wir lange Gespräche über sein Leben in Deutschland. Im Interview spricht er über Arbeitsmentalitäten, seine Familie in Pakistan, deutsche Bräuche, Hollywood und das Image des Westens sowie seine Angst als Muslim im deutschen Alltag zu bestehen. Seine Frau und Tochter erhielten nie ein deutsches Visum — heute leben die drei in den USA.


Verena Ott

Verena Ott startete vor zwei Jahren ein gewagtes Unterfangen: Sie gab ihren Job in München auf und folgte einem Angebot aus Kolkata. Dort unterrichtet sie seitdem Modedesign an einem Internationalen College. Verena schildert eindrucksvoll wie sie den Weg vom Kulturschock bis hin zur Alltagsnormalität durchlebt hat. Sie zeigt dabei Seiten von Indien auf, die so ganz anders sind, als man es vielleicht erwartet. Ein beeindruckendes Portrait.


Dr. Martin Wälde

Dr. Martin Wälde ist, bereits zum zweiten Mal, Leiter des Goethe-Instituts in Kolkata. Wir gehen zurück in Herrn Wäldes Anfangszeit, als er als junger Student von den Eindrücken in Indien noch völlig überwältigt war, bis hin zu seinen heutigen Beobachtungen nach jahrelanger intensiver Kulturarbeit u. a. in Polen, Pakistan und Indien. Besonders im Fokus stehen dabei Gedanken über einen gelungenen Kulturaustausch für beide Seiten; dazu gibt er wertvolle Einblicke in Projekte des Instituts und schildert dessen wichtige Rolle für die deutsche — und indische — Kultur. 


Plotpourrie Theatre Group

Marilena Savvides, Julia Holzbach und
Supriyo Bandyopadhyay sind Mitglieder der Plotpourrie Theatre Group, einer internationalen Theatergruppe aus Bonn. Zum Ensemble gehören neben Europäern auch zahlreiche Pakistanis und Inder. Die drei berichten über ihre ganz persönlichen Erfahrungen in der Zusammenarbeit und im Privatleben, über Vorurteile, die eigentlich gar keine sind, über Integration und darüber, wie man kulturelle Ereignisse — in Deutschland und Indien — zu fruchtbaren Begegnungen macht.


Rüdiger Abshalom Dalit Westphal

Rüdiger Abshalom Dalit Westphal ist Kunsterzieher, Hobbykünstler und Weltreisender. Nachdem er Afrika durchquert hatte, war er 1974 auch in Indien unterwegs und gibt viele Einblicke in diese vergangene Zeit — wohlwissend, dass es das Indien von damals so nicht mehr gibt. Mit einem Augenzwinkern teilt er auch skurrile Geschehnisse und Begegnungen auf seiner Reise, die uns zum Schmunzeln und Nachdenken bringen. Bereichernd und erfrischend anders!


Barbara Scharrer

Barbara Scharrer ist eine deutsche Rechtsanwältin, die sich auf Asien spezialisiert hat. Für eine internationale Kanzlei brachte sie hunderte deutsche Unternehmen nach Asien und leitete selbst mehrere Niederlassungen. Durch ihre Arbeit lebte sie auch in vielen asiatischen Ländern, u.a. in Indien, und machte sich vor drei Jahren mit einer eigenen Kanzlei selbstständig. Daneben hat sie Lehraufträge inne und gibt ihr wertvolles Wissen an Studenten weiter. Nun teilt sie ihre vielseitigen Arbeitserfahrungen in diesem Gespräch mit uns. Hier können auch erfahrene CEOs noch etwas lernen…


Prof. H.S. Shivaprakash

Bereit für eine philosophische Reise?
Prof. H.S. Shivaprakash ist Leiter des Tagore Centers und Berater für Bildungs- und Kulturangelegenheiten der indischen Botschaft in Berlin. Er ist zudem ein bekannter Schriftsteller und Dichter, vor allem in seiner Muttersprache Kannada. Seine Schnittstelle mit Deutschland ist durch seine berufliche Position offensichtlich; seine Impulse und persönlichen Einblicke zur deutsch-indischen Annäherung sind jedoch überraschend unkonventionell.


Christin Niedballa

Christin Niedballa war mit dem Freiwilligendienst "Weltwärts" das erste Mal in Indien — und das gleich 11 Monate. Sie arbeitete in einem Projekt mit ehemaligen Straßenkindern und kümmerte sich neben dem Unterrichten auch um eine Verbesserung des Gesundheitsbewusstseins. Wie sie ihre Zeit erlebt hat und welchen Herausforderungen sie sich stellte — in der Fremde und bei der Rückkehr in die eigene Kultur — berichtet sie in diesem Interview. Einprägsam!


Dipak Doshi

Kaufhof, Wirtshaus, Lebkuchen: Dipak Doshi arbeitet seit vielen Jahren im Lederexportgeschäft eng mit deutschen Kunden zusammen und hat einiges zu erzählen. Er schildert seine Erfahrungen mit seinem Geschäftspartner der ersten Stunde Klaus Jung, lässt uns wissen was einen perfekten Deutschen ausmacht und auf was es im deutsch-indischen Arbeitsalltag ankommt. Empfehlenswert für jeden, der in Indien erfolgreich Geschäfte machen will!


Manuela Funck

Manuela Funck war ein Jahr als Deutschlehrerin am Goethe Zentrum in Kerala. Wir trafen uns in Köln unter freiem Himmel bei schönstem Sonnenschein zum Gespräch. Manuela beweist, dass sie während ihres Aufenthalts in Indien eine beeindruckende Kultursensibilität entwickelt hat, die sie sich durch einfühlsame Beobachtungen und intensive Reflexion der Geschehnisse erwarb. Ein in jeglicher Hinsicht sehenswertes Interview.


Christian Noçon

Ich lernte Christian Noçon bei Rainer Thielmanns Lesung kennen und als begabten Sitarspieler schätzen. Monate später trafen wir uns in Kolkata wieder, wo Christian an einem wunderschönen Campus wohnt und Sitar studiert. Er gibt uns Einblicke in seine musikalische Welt und zeigt Indien von einer anderen, ganz persönlichen Seite. Seht selbst.


Ritesh Mandavia

Auf der Suche nach einem geeigneten Hindi-Sprachpartner traf ich auf Ritesh Mandavia — Senior Consultant bei einer großen internationalen Bank. Er wurde nicht nur ein guter Freund, sondern ist auch ein toller Gesprächspartner zur deutsch-indischen Kulturverständigung. Ritesh lebt seit 9 Jahren in Deutschland. Im Interview teilt er seine Beobachtungen und gibt hilfreiche Tipps.


Tobias Hardardt

An einem schönen Tag im Spätsommer saß ich mit meinem Kommilitonen in einem Café und plauderte heftig über mein Dokumentarfilmprojekt. Mittendrin tippte mir jemand auf die Schulter, entschuldigte sich höflich, dass er mitgehört hatte und erzählte alsbald über seine Erfahrungen als Flugbegleiter auf Langstreckenflügen nach Indien. Eine tolle und lehrreiche Begegnung und ein sympathisches Interview waren die Folge.


Michael Kern

Michael ist ebenfalls Masterstudent an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin und kam kurz vor unserem Gespräch gerade von einem 6-monatigen Praktikum bei einer deutschen Firma in Pune zurück. Voll bepackt mit Eindrücken und Erfahrungen entstand ein interessantes Gespräch, das spannende Einblicke aus dem Reich der Expats bereithält.


Conny Rave &
Debasish Bhattacharjee


Die deutsch-indische Gesellschaft in Köln hat mich mit Anubhab zusammengeführt – einer indischen Musikschule und deutsch-indischen WG zugleich. Nicht nur, dass ich selber eine wertvolle Zeit im Hause Anubhab verbringen durfte, war eine Bereicherung; die Schilderungen von Conny und Debashish über die Querelen des Alltags und der Leidenschaft für die Musik sind inspirierend und liefern neue Blickwinkel.


Rainer Thielmann

Rainer ist alles – Autor, Musiker, Dichter, Lebenskünstler, Indienliebhaber und eine einzigartige Persönlichkeit. Wenn man sich auf verschiedene Weise mit Indien beschäftigt, kommt man kaum um ihn herum und das ist auch gut so. Er hält Lesungen und multimediale Vorträge, in denen er sich auf seine ganz eigene Weise Land und Leuten annähert und seine vielschichtigen Eindrücke verarbeitet und weitergibt. Im Interview schildert er auch auf welch ungewöhnliche Weise seine Liebe zu Indien entstanden ist.